Ready for Ramadan?

Image

It’s that time of the year again. Ramadan! Am I ready for Ramadan?

7 years ago, I experienced “Ramadan” during the hot summer in the UAE. Being a non-Muslim, it was an really an interesting experience. First thing I learned was the “NOT TO DO” during this holy month- no eating in public not even a candy nor a bubblegum. The Muslims usually eat before sunrise and refrain from eating during the day and then break their fasting at sunset after praying.

This Ramadan their fasting period is around 14 hours. Its an amazing feat of faith. I cannot stay even more than 2 hours not eating.  The Muslims have my full respect on this one. Its really a great sacrifice to deprive yourself with the means to live- food!

So here’s my Ramadan routine. I start work at 9 AM. When it’s not Ramadan, I can arrange myself for work at 8:30 AM and then eat breakfast at the office. During Ramadan, I wake up before 8 AM and eat a heavy breakfast that can last me 3 days if you know what I mean and drink lots of water. Stuffing myself, like a camel does, ensures 4 1/2 hours of non-stop work without food and water.  The hardest part of our Ramadan timing is coming back in the evening. We usually come back for a 1 1/2 night shift.  It’s not a very productive time. Usually, we spend this time drinking tea or coffee while chatting only. I am just happy to get a half-day during Ramadan since we work regularly 48 hours from Saturday-Thursday. During Ramadan, the 8-hour work schedule is 2 hours less.

Am I ready for Ramadan? Definitely!

3 thoughts on “Ready for Ramadan?

  1. The first couple of days are kinda difficult and then your body gets used to it – really! Please see my post today and thank you for posting this. Are you still in the UAE?

Leave a Reply

