Virtual mom

Being a mom of 3 is really not that easy, specially when I consider myself to be a “virtual mom”.

I am 4,500 miles away from home. It’s not by choice but I was forced by my economic situation. So how do I go about being a virtual mom?

ImageLuckily, there are so many ways and communication is the key. Being in touch with my kids is as essential as breathing. It is important to continuously engage with them. Nowadays, long distance communication is different from what it was decades ago. You can forego the snail mail and expensive telephone bills.

Communication is made easy via the internet. Social media apps that I use like Skype, Facebook, Twitter and WeChat , just to name a few, are easy to use, fast and economical.

Now, communication is not only limited to text or voice but also photos and videos are easily shared.  I can talk to my kids anytime and anywhere (where WiFi is available of course). They share their photos, thoughts and likes on their Facebook page. ImageEven my 6-year old son knows how to use the latest technology which really amazes me.

It’s really different seeing them grow online day by day. It’s not that I do not worry  about losing our precious moments together but our distance apart gave me a chance to see my kids from a different perspective, to value and appreciate them more and making it a point to give time to talk to them, see them and listen to them.  I feel they are expressing themselves a lot easier over the net.

Nothing beats being with my kids but thanks to the new technologies available, being a virtual mom is a task made easy!

Leave a Reply

